Are you enjoying the extensions? Did you like the support? Help others decide.

Leave a review

file Setting up new BLOG page?

More
1 year 9 months ago #5717 by djcaptpln880
Setting up new BLOG page? was created by djcaptpln880
Hello
I have gantry 5 joomla 

This seems complicated to me probably because I am new to this

I am trying to setup a separate layout for my blog posts AND blog output content

I see that joomla has its own internal structure for blog posts so this seems to interfere with customizing your own layout and such

Any idea how I can setup a different layout in gantry 5 for the blog post layout AND the blog output content?

For instance, I have tried what I propose but when I click on the actual blog post it outputs a different URL Trail structure that follows the menu structure.

This seems like something a remote desktop session would be fixed by a pro who would have to log into my website.

Any ideas?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 9 months ago #5718 by syw
Replied by syw on topic Setting up new BLOG page?
Hello,

I am not sure I quite understand the problem.

If you are creating a blog with LNEP, you should also create a hidden sub-menu for the articles to 'fall into'. This article will help you understand what is going on: simplifyyourweb.com/documentation/latest...ng-items-into-a-view.

Gantry probably overrides the default Joomla blog layout...

If you create 2 different blog layouts for the same articles, you are in for a problem, because articles can only open under a certain page and the router (the Joomla engine that creates the URLs) will choose the first menu item it finds appropriate.

Olivier.

More
1 year 9 months ago #5719 by djcaptpln880
Replied by djcaptpln880 on topic Setting up new BLOG page?
YEs it is hard for me to describe! :-)

I tried fiddling around with it and cannot seem to get it what I need.